The team championing the race against racism

From Central Singapore Joint Social Service Centre

The idea for the Central Singapore Joint Social Service Centre (CS JSSC) was first mooted by Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong (then Prime Minister) in 1996. He envisioned a joint body that would enable Self-Help Groups and community organisations to pool resources and draw on synergies to reach out to all Singaporeans.

Rising to the challenge, the Self-Help Groups (SHGs) – Chinese Development Assistance Council, Yayasan Mendaki, Singapore Indian Development Association, The Eurasian Association, Singapore and Association of Muslim Professionals worked together with the Central Singapore Community Development Council to have the CS JSSC operational by 1997.

The CS JSSC played a purposeful role in providing social services and enrichment programmes reaching out to all ethnic groups. Since inception, the Centre had reached out to thousands of children, youth and the elderly of all races in the community.

To OnePeople.sg

OnePeople.sg was launched by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong in May 2007.

OnePeople.sg was established in 1997 to promote racial harmony and spearhead programmes and initiatives to bring the different ethnic communities together. Formerly known as the Central Singapore Joint Social Service Centre, the organisation was repositioned and given a new identity – OnePeople.sg. On 27 May 2007, OnePeople.sg was launched by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong as an organisation that champions racial harmony initiatives in Singapore.

OnePeople.sg aims to facilitate deeper understanding of race relations. Our youth driven initiatives foster an appreciation for diversity and nurture cross-cultural exchanges. We provide a conducive environment for youths from different cultural backgrounds to learn about diversity, dialogue, build friendships and lead racial harmony efforts. Our desire through these approaches is to develop youths to be advocates and ambassadors.

OnePeople.sg community engagement programmes serve to build capacity among stakeholders. These include educators, community, religious and grassroots leaders and members who have a significant influence on community relations. Our programmes are tailored towards gearing our stakeholders to better understand issues, trends and developments concerning community integration. We provide capacity building programmes in areas such as religious diversity, conflict resolution, ground sensing and new media engagement to enhance ground efforts.

Our Founding Members

Management Committee

With its membership of community organisations and adopting a many-helping-hands approach, OnePeople.sg brings Singaporeans together as one people regardless of race, language or religion. OnePeople.sg aims to be a fermenting ground for ideas and resources, and further strengthen our bonds and friendship by providing one platform for individuals and organisations to work together on issues relating to race and religion.

  • Dr Janil Puthucheary
    Dr Janil Puthucheary Chairman

    Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Health & Ministry of Communications and Information

  • Mr Gerald Balendran Singham, BBM
    Mr Gerald Balendran Singham, BBM Vice-Chairman

    Deputy Managing Partner

    Dentons Rodyk & Davidson LLP, BBM

  • Mr S.Vivakanandran
    Mr S.Vivakanandran Secretary

    Executive Chairman
    PSB Academy Pte Ltd

  • Mr Mohd Anuar Yusop, BBM
    Mr Mohd Anuar Yusop, BBM Treasurer


    AJ Consultancy & Management

  • Ms Rahayu Mahzam
    Ms Rahayu Mahzam Member

    Parliamentary Secretary
    Ministry of Health

  • Dr Tan Wu Meng
    Dr Tan Wu Meng Member

    Member of Parliament for Jurong GRC

  • Mr Pok Cheng Chong
    Mr Pok Cheng Chong Member

    Executive Director
    Chinese Development Assistance Council (CDAC)

  • Mdm Zuraidah Abdullah
    Mdm Zuraidah Abdullah Member

    Chief Executive Officer
    Yayasan Mendaki

  • Mr Anbarasu S/O Rajendran
    Mr Anbarasu S/O Rajendran Member

    Chief Executive Officer
    Singapore Indian Development Association (SINDA)

  • Ms Jasmine Kwok
    Ms Jasmine Kwok Member

    Senior Director (South West Community Development Division)

  • Ms Yvonne Pereira
    Ms Yvonne Pereira Member

    2nd Vice-President
    The Eurasian Association, Singapore

  • Mr Mohamed Nasim S/O Abdul Rahim, PBM
    Mr Mohamed Nasim S/O Abdul Rahim, PBM Member

    Vice Principal
    North Vista Secondary School

  • Mr Sarjit Singh S/O Sarmukh Singh, BBM
    Mr Sarjit Singh S/O Sarmukh Singh, BBM Member

    District Councillor
    Central Singapore Community Development Council

  • Mr Goh Peng Hong, BBM
    Mr Goh Peng Hong, BBM Member

    District Councillor
    North West Community Development Council

  • Ms Amatul Jameel Suhani Binte Sujari, PBM
    Ms Amatul Jameel Suhani Binte Sujari, PBM Member

    District Councillor
    South East Community Development Council

  • Mr Muhammad Rasyid Abdullah
    Mr Muhammad Rasyid Abdullah Member

    District Councillor
    South West Community Development Council

  • Ms Jennifer Yin Ling
    Ms Jennifer Yin Ling Member
  • Mr Puvan Ariaratnam
    Mr Puvan Ariaratnam Member

    Director, Character and Citizenship Education, Student Development Curriculum Division
    Ministry of Education

  • Dr Mathew Mathews
    Dr Mathew Mathews Member

    Head of IPS Social Lab

    Senior Research Fellow, Institute of Policy Studies
    Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy
    National University of Singapore

  • Dr Michael Heng, PBM
    Dr Michael Heng, PBM Member

    Director and Principal Consultant
    PeopleWorldwide Consulting Pte Ltd

  • Mr Mike Mariyappa Thiruman
    Mr Mike Mariyappa Thiruman Member

    Singapore Teachers’ Union

  • Ms Zarina Yusof
    Ms Zarina Yusof Member

    Acting Executive Director
    The Association of Muslim Professionals

  • Ms Kuik Shiao-Yin
    Ms Kuik Shiao-Yin Member

    The Thought Collective

  • Ms Susanna Kulatissa
    Ms Susanna Kulatissa Member

    Creative Director

    So Drama! Entertainment

  • Ms Jennifer Lewis
    Ms Jennifer Lewis Member


    Communications and Engagement

    Temasek Foundation

Our Annual Report

Full highlights of the year from our annual reports

Our People

Ms Neo Phaik Hoon

Executive Director
DID +65 62500813

Mr Ramesh Ganeson

DID +65 62596441

Mr Sasi Kumar

Senior Manager
DID +65 62533285

Mr Muhammad Ashraf Bin Anwar

Programme Manager
(Community Engagement)
DID +65 62582546

Ms Hanisah Hamid

Programme Manager
(Youth Outreach)
DID +65 62533281

Ms Serene Ton

Finance Executive
DID +65 62594116

Mdm Sree Ranjini Thillagan

Executive Assistant
(Admin & Operations)
DID +65 62594116

Contact Us

Send us an email and we'll get back to you asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search